PDA

View Full Version : X star run out of water

hadleyj
08-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Hey guys, I need a little help. My little brother took my 08 X star to the lake yesterday and evidentally pulled it up the ramp with the engine running. He said it may have been 90 seconds before he shut it off. I just had a full service done on it last week. What should I check or do?!! The engine has not turned back on since. PLEASE HELP

Kimper
08-07-2013, 12:24 PM
I'm no expert, but I don't think that will hurt anything at all. If anything it would just overheat , but sounds like it didn't even get to that point.

carlsonwa
08-07-2013, 12:26 PM
That's not going to hurt anything running out of water for that short duration..

TayMC197
08-07-2013, 12:35 PM
Hey guys, I need a little help. My little brother took my 08 X star to the lake yesterday and evidentally pulled it up the ramp with the engine running. He said it may have been 90 seconds before he shut it off. I just had a full service done on it last week. What should I check or do?!! The engine has not turned back on since. PLEASE HELP

you haven't started the engine since or it won't start since?

ski_king
08-07-2013, 12:38 PM
90 seconds of the motor running on the trailer most likley wouldn't hurt the motor, however 90 seconds of the impeller running without water sounds too long.

If it were mine, I would check or replace the impeller. It is better to check/replace it now then to have it fail out on the water.

sppeders
08-07-2013, 12:44 PM
if the impeller is easy to exchange, take a peak at that... Otherwise dump it back in and see if the temp goes to range, and stays there.

scott023
08-07-2013, 12:48 PM
if the impeller is easy to exchange, take a peak at that... Otherwise dump it back in and see if the temp goes to range, and stays there.

This is the way to go.

willyt
08-07-2013, 01:24 PM
it took a minute and a half for him to realize the engine was running out of the water!?!?

last time he takes it out alone...

scott023