PDA

View Full Version : prop. 3 blade vs 4 blade


supreme112279
07-18-2013, 11:36 AM
I currently have a 3 blade oj 14x18 prop on my MC. I can buy a 4 blade 14x18. What differences will I see and should I expect. I ski and wakeboard. I have a maristar 225 with a lr1 corvette engine.

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
07-18-2013, 11:39 AM
I currently have a 3 blade oj 14x18 prop on my MC. I can buy a 4 blade 14x18. What differences will I see and should I expect. I ski and wakeboard. I have a maristar 225 with a lr1 corvette engine.

Slightly stronger hole shot with a loss of 1-2mph on the top end.

Call oj or acme, A CNC prop is the only way to go...

Table Rocker
07-18-2013, 11:53 AM
Slightly stronger hole shot with a loss of 1-2mph on the top end.
That's exactly what I got. I went from 47 to 46 on the top end.

Skir68
07-18-2013, 12:12 PM
We switched to the same 4blade prop on our prostar. We have a powerslot, and think its much smoother, but im sure that could be just the fact that its a brand new prop not rebuilt. We now have a 4blade back up prop and won't be going back to a 3blade.

supreme112279
07-18-2013, 12:29 PM
I guess I'm convinced. Its used and I'll be paying 100 dollars. I'll call oj. Will it help in holding 18 mph for wake boarding. Will gas mileage change

d2jp
07-18-2013, 12:58 PM
I just purchased a new OJ 3-blade legend, $350 w/ discount coupon from skidim. I've been happy with the stock 3-blade 14x18 for general recreation use - free ski, teenage daughters on wakeboards and tubing. Prostar 190, no ballast just out for some fun on the lake. Keeping the old one for a spare, it's a little banged up.

snobinge
07-18-2013, 02:25 PM
I would go with a 4 blade with a Vdrive. I like the ACME CNC 3 blade on DD's.

Skir68
07-18-2013, 02:56 PM
I guess I'm convinced. Its used and I'll be paying 100 dollars. I'll call oj. Will it help in holding 18 mph for wake boarding. Will gas mileage change

$100.00 is a STEAL! If you don't like it, send it my way, I will pay shipping!;)

supreme112279
07-18-2013, 02:59 PM
$100.00 is a STEAL! If you don't like it, send it my way, I will pay shipping!;)


Deal

http://atlanta.craigslist.org/eat/boa/3901916091.html


I called and will pick up tomorrow. See the above add. Your thoughts?

tr6coug
07-18-2013, 04:55 PM
Dang, that is a *great* deal...

Skir68
07-18-2013, 05:26 PM
Deal

http://atlanta.craigslist.org/eat/boa/3901916091.html


I called and will pick up tomorrow. See the above add. Your thoughts?

YEP! GREAT deal indeed! That's what I run on my boat. Nice find! OJ1280
That's a $462.00 prop brand new!

catamount
07-18-2013, 09:25 PM
It's a steal. I'd pick it up for a spare at that price.

timvan
07-19-2013, 06:56 AM
It's a steal. I'd pick it up for a spare at that price.

It probably was stolen!

supreme112279
07-19-2013, 04:06 PM
I just picked it up and it is gorgeous

supreme112279
07-19-2013, 10:30 PM
97979I just picked it up and it is gorgeous

CruisinGA
07-19-2013, 10:44 PM
Good buy!

I did see better performance with a CNC 3 blade over original 4 blade on my X9.
Better top end and slightly better holeshot.

supreme112279
07-19-2013, 11:19 PM
next question, is there a thread or tell me how to pull my old prop and install the new one. I have never pulled my prop.

FYI. I did change my oil and tranny fluid tonight. That made me feel better.

jsta281
07-24-2013, 04:15 AM
All other things being equal a 3 blade will do better at top end, and 4 blade better hole shot, however other variables like cup can drastically effect the end result and comparisons between the two. Now that all props are CNC'ed to exact specs I see no reason why any V drive would choose a 3 blade over a 4 blade.

DD are different and in many circumstances a 3 blade may out perform a 4 blade depending on application.

supreme112279
01-26-2014, 06:21 PM
Notes on my last trip out with my new prop. Didn't do anything but ride at about 24 to 2500 rpm. I went 47 miles stopped a couple times. Burned 12 gallons of gas. That 3.9 miles per gallon.

I can't compare that to the 3 blade prop. Never tracked it so closely. I used the runkeeper app to get my distance.