PDA

View Full Version : OMG-The Wake is Intimidating Me

LisaJ
07-15-2013, 02:15 PM
Now, ya'll try to remember that I SAID I was new to Slalom. And I started wakeboarding last year when I bought my Maristar 215 (which I love). As I'm starting to get more confident on my new ski and trying to work both sides of the boat, I'm very intimidated to stay in good form and power through the wake. After all, I'm trying to give up wakeboarding because of some nasty falls with head injuries jumping W2W. Now, I'm going airborne on a narrow ski in lieu of a nice WIDE wakeboard.

My boat driver has made all attempts to smooth the wake out as much as possible but at the speed I'm going, 24 mph, and always 6-10 people in the boat, the wake is STILL ~ 2 1/2'.

Do you think if I suck it up and try to go faster that it will be "do-able" for me? Or will it be a lost cause with this particular boat. I just didn't think I was quiet ready to be running 30 mph when I'm just learning.

What Mastercraft is THE Ski boat of choice?

snork
07-15-2013, 02:30 PM
gotta run at least 30 mph and trim all the way down, move everyone as far toward to the bow as possible, you might want to think about a smaller crew.
if that don't work you might need to invest into a 197

LisaJ
07-15-2013, 02:33 PM
That's what I'm trying to figure out...do I need to buy myself a smaller ski boat to get this accomplished. I don't want to exhaust myself trying to make this work if it will NEVER work. And yes, I know I need to lighten the load. Everybody is always so excited to jump in and go.

SKIBUMM
07-15-2013, 02:38 PM
Unless you have pure slalom tug you need a minimum of 30 MPH to make your wake passable. speed up and go. My 13 year old (second year slaloming runs at 28mph). You should notice a big difference in wake at 30 and people moved to distribute the load evenly.

190 Skier
07-15-2013, 02:40 PM