PDA

View Full Version : Tower lights stop working after a few seconds


Topp dawg
07-10-2013, 12:06 AM
My tower lights work fine for about 20 seconds then after my radio turns on an alarm sounds and the radio loses all power and then when i turn off the key and turn it back on the tower lights dont work anymore but the radio works fine. Is there a fuze box or breaker somewhere I can check. I am a new boat owner. Anyone else seen this issue before or know where I should begin troubleshooting this issue. I have a 2003 X10.

Aric'sX15
07-10-2013, 10:31 AM
Have you checked the condition of your battery?

Topp dawg
07-10-2013, 10:42 AM
I have 2 batteries with a perko switch and they haven't given me a problem yet. The boat starts perfectly every time. My gauge always shows just under 13 volts, unless i have listened to the radio for a long time then it drops to just above 11 volts.

Topp dawg
07-14-2013, 01:00 PM
Is there a fuse box or breaker box somewhere I can check. This boat is new to me, can anyone tell me where to locate these?

skitilldark
08-09-2013, 10:53 AM
Is there a fuse box or breaker box somewhere I can check. This boat is new to me, can anyone tell me where to locate these?

My tower lights did this. I was running 2 forward, 2 rear and 2 side lights. It was the circuit breaker. I had to add another circuit breaker and offload the side lights to the second breaker.

I have an X9 and mine is below the dash up high on the left side.

TayMC197
08-09-2013, 10:55 AM
Is there a fuse box or breaker box somewhere I can check. This boat is new to me, can anyone tell me where to locate these?

Wire the lights direct and loose the breaker. You are drawing to many amps. Circuit can't handle/wasn't designed for that. I'm assuming you lights or stereo is aftermarket?

Topp dawg
08-09-2013, 01:58 PM
The tower lights and stereo were in the boat when i bought it. I have a new sony cd player with 2 amps. 1 amp for the sub and 1 amp for the tower speakers and interior speakers.

Topp dawg
09-03-2013, 03:27 PM
I noticed the breaker is melted away. Should I be able to just replace the breaker or will i need a whole switch breaker combo. Anyone know what size breaker these use?