PDA

View Full Version : 2001 x30 bogs down then dies

racrowe
06-24-2013, 11:38 PM
hello, i have a 2001 mastercraft x30 with the LTR 330 motor and i am having problems with it.
sometimes it will start and sometimes it won't. we took it to the shop and they told me it was a lose battery connection. then i got it back the other day and put it in the water and decided to surf behind it. then while we were surfing the same problem came back. what happened is the boat bogged down twice and then it just completely died. i have already bought a new fuel pump and installed it, but that didnt solve it. then i checked the fuel pump fuses and they are not blown. then i replaced the fuel pump relay and that also wasnt the problem. i have no idea what the problem can be. i am thinking it could be the wiring of the kill switch so i am going to take look at that soon. any other ideas? has anyone else had this problem? any help is greatly appreciated!!

mtajpa
06-24-2013, 11:45 PM
Check the connector right at the fuel pump the pins get loose. Wiggle it and see if you can hear the pump run when you are trying to start it. At key on you should hear it prime for a few seconds. Kill switch is next thing they get weak also. Simply jumper the 2 wires together at the kill switch. Or even try holding it in place.

racrowe
06-24-2013, 11:48 PM
also i thought i would add that after it died whenever i try to start it i will turn the motor but it wont fire.

racrowe
06-25-2013, 11:43 AM
so i just bypassed the kill switch in the boat and that is not the problem. i have no idea what it can be now. i checked the fuel pressure by depressing on the fuel pressure hook up and no fuel squirted out. i am thinking that the fuel pump that i just bought and installed is bad. what are your thoughts?

Agent X9
06-25-2013, 03:34 PM