PDA

View Full Version : iPod Nano

shepherd
10-04-2005, 02:54 PM
Now I'm sure this topic came up before...
I'm looking to move into the 21st century by ditching the CD walkman and getting an iPod. The new Nano looks pretty cool.

I don't know much about iPods or mp3 players in general (I assume they are the same thing???). All I know is that they hold a lot of songs (like 1,000), you download the songs from your computer, and they are small. I have a couple of questions:

1. Can you copy music off a standard CD onto an iPod? How? Will I need special software or should my player come with what I need?

2. I assume the iPod won't "skip" when it's bounced around, right? (I like to jog with my CD Walkman but the occasional skipping drives me nuts!).

3. Can I hook it up to a car/boat stereo unit? If so, how?

4. Anybody have a Nano or can recommend something else???

I know this is a lot of questions, but I'm a newbie in the digital music world.

Thanks in advance.

east tx skier
10-04-2005, 02:59 PM
1. Yes. Ipod software.
2. Shouldn't skip.
3. Yes, using rca connection to back of head unit or with an fm modulator.
4. Don't even have an ipod.

LakePirate
10-04-2005, 03:01 PM
Bought one for my brother-in-law for his birthday. It is pretty cool. The FM modulator sucks, you have to hold your mouth just right to get it to work.

Upper Michigan Prostar190
10-04-2005, 03:02 PM
Hey SHep,.

I love my Ipod!!

Yes, you can load standard CDs onto an Ipod using your computer.

1.You can download Itunes for free, that is the software that ipod use. its very easy to operate.
2. I have never heard of an ipod skipping ever.

3. you can hook it up to nearly ANY audio device via patch cables you need to buy. YOu can also use an FM transmitter that will allow you to tune your radio to it and listen, but the quality isnt that great. the real way to do that is by a cable, the sound is PRISTINE!!!