PDA

View Full Version : Volkswagon

ktn_cmu
10-03-2005, 04:27 PM
Hey All,

I searched on VW and found a couple not too involved topics, so I thought I'd ask directly.

I am thinking of buying an '05 Golf TDI. What to you think?

I drive 75+/day
You can pick one up new for about 18,500 out the door
Used ones cost about the same (03 40,000miles, 18grand) so low depreciation
I've heard that you really get closer to 50mpg (highway only)

6ballsisall
10-03-2005, 04:32 PM
Mileage is accurate. If you want to really save some dollars make your own biodiesel. If you want extra performance you can really bomb those motors too. It's a good time :D

bcampbe7
10-03-2005, 04:34 PM
Hey All,

I searched on VW and found a couple not too involved topics, so I thought I'd ask directly.

I drive 75+/day

I have no first hand experience, but my brother had a Wolfsburg (sp?) Jetta. It seemed to be very well built and rode and drove great.
If I was driving 75+ miles per day, I would be looking at Diesel also!

jraben8
10-03-2005, 04:35 PM
What can be done to those motors? The acceleration times scare me with the drivers in Dallas.

G-man
10-03-2005, 04:50 PM
My daughter has a 98 diesel beatle. Acceleration is not an issue. In the city we are getting 34mpg. My son has an 04 golf gas model and he is getting 24mpg. Both have been reliable vehicles.

AirJunky
10-03-2005, 05:14 PM
Cool cars. The market for them here in the NW is such that the new cars are going for $2000 - $4000 over the dealers list price for 05s..... ie; $23k - $25k. And used ones run $16k - $19k & usually have pretty high mileage. Our local dealer told me he can't keep the cars on his lot more than 20 or 30 minutes & their sold!!