PDA

View Full Version : Carb Gurus wanted!

f925
04-21-2013, 04:01 PM
So being a carb noob I need some help trying to tune my 351w w/ 4160 carbs.
My current scenario is starts with a closed choke just fine, but will not start with choke even 1/4 open unless it has a little throttle. As the choke opens to about 1/8-1/4 the motor dies. My base setting for idle adjustment is 1 1/2 turns out on both sides from lightly seated. My choke is set where when cold it is completely but lightly seated in a fully closed position.

Now, my noob theory is as the choke opens it starts to run more lean, so I would think I would start by opening idle screws up 1/8 turn or so and trying again. Am I on the right track?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SkiDaddy
04-21-2013, 04:57 PM
Can you get it to run with the choke fully open? Can you get the engine warmed up? I don't think you tune the carb with respect to the choke plate position.

Ideally, you would get things warmed up, and connect a vacuum gauge to a vacuum port downstream of the carb (I use the PCV port on the spacer plate between carb and intake.) While keeping an eye on the vacuum gauge, slowly adjust one of the idle air screws until your vacuum is maximized (my recent carb tune was around 1.5 turns out from fully seated) then make the same adjustment on the other side. Then, adjust your idle speed with the idle adjustment screw to around 700-800, if it needs it....then adjust the idle air screws again, then adjust the idle again, if it needs it.

I'd say get the carb in the ballpark with this method and then worry about the choke. There might be something else going on if you are having a problem with choke opening causing the engine to die.

Disclaimer! I'm definately not a carb guru, but I have done a rebuilt and re-tune recently and she's purring like a kitten.....93 Prostar with 4160 carb also.

Good luck!

Cloaked
04-21-2013, 05:15 PM