PDA

View Full Version : scan tool for an x45?


Ckrbjohn
04-18-2013, 11:58 PM
thinking about buying a scan tool so i can trouble shoot my 07 x45 with the L18 motor, anyone have experience with any of them?

gotjag941
04-19-2013, 07:17 AM
Diacom is that you need made by rinda technologies but a scan tool doesn't just fix your issue it just points u in the correct direction if you know how to use the program

CantRepeat
04-19-2013, 08:02 AM
http://www.michiganmotorz.com/rinda-tech-m-34.html

Ckrbjohn
04-19-2013, 06:31 PM
ya for some reason im resisting to pay the dealership 130-260 bucks just to diagnose the problem... if i can scan it and find out why the check engine light came on that would be alot of help instead of paying them to "play around with it"

CantRepeat
04-19-2013, 07:42 PM
ya for some reason im resisting to pay the dealership 130-260 bucks just to diagnose the problem... if i can scan it and find out why the check engine light came on that would be alot of help instead of paying them to "play around with it"

You can read codes by jumping A&B pins on the DLC but I would suggest getting the $50 Rinda code reader. It makes it pretty simple to read codes.

sand2snow22
04-20-2013, 02:23 AM
John, if you ever get down to Portland, I'll scan it for you. Hopefully it's just a low voltage that we can clear. Not going to lie, 2007 has a few check engine gremlins.

Ckrbjohn
04-20-2013, 11:20 AM
i actually bought this boat from portland in january... do u know Jeremy that owns exclusive motors in portland? I think he has gone through a couple mastercrafts in the past year...

Ckrbjohn
05-09-2013, 07:55 PM
great... so i buy the scan tool michigan motorz recommended and it doesnt have the right plug to connect to the dtc.... unless i found the wrong plug... anyone else know what the plug is suppose to look like?

tr6coug
05-09-2013, 08:13 PM
You can read codes by jumping A&B pins on the DLC but I would suggest getting the $50 Rinda code reader. It makes it pretty simple to read codes.

That works on MEFI-1-4 (I've done it) but don't do that on a MEFI-5 engine. Somewhere on this forum I read that jumping A&B on MEFI-5 will damage it.

Not sure what year MEFI-5 started but my '07 is MEFI-5.

CantRepeat
05-09-2013, 08:41 PM
That works on MEFI-1-4 (I've done it) but don't do that on a MEFI-5 engine. Somewhere on this forum I read that jumping A&B on MEFI-5 will damage it.

Not sure what year MEFI-5 started but my '07 is MEFI-5.

MEFI 5 does not have a DLC it has a OBD-M and takes an ICAN connector.

Might want to take a look at this thread. Seems there was a split in ECMs.

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=8371

Ckrbjohn
05-09-2013, 11:42 PM
So how do I know if I have mefi 5? I recall seeing the black ECM with what looks like cooling fins... Also the plug that I believe is the dtc or dlc is mounted on a plate along with the ECM and 3 relays... The plug had 6 wires and a cap... The end of the plug was purple... Do u guys think this is mefi 5?

CantRepeat
05-10-2013, 05:45 AM
As you can see by this pdf http://www.rinda.com/acro/scantool_adapters.pdf there is a break in ECMs.

The attachment shows what each ECM looks like.

Ckrbjohn
05-12-2013, 03:43 PM
yup i have mefi 5... crap guess i will take it to the shop!!!!!

thamax
05-13-2013, 03:10 PM
You can buy the diacom and get the adapter for the MEFI 5 is not included with the kit look at you diagnostic port on the port side of the v-drive and see what u have on your boat

CantRepeat
05-14-2013, 09:56 AM
It "should" be a OBD-M connector. You'd need the Rinda ICAN connector if you buy the diacom software.

Call Rinda direct if you can.

From what I have gathered, any marine motor running CATs will have a MEFI 5 ECM.