PDA

View Full Version : Bilge Pump Replacement


WC205
02-27-2013, 10:24 AM
Need to replace the center bilge pump on my 2004 Prostar 205V. It will run but won't actually pump any water. Below is what I have now. Wondering if the one in the link is the correct replacement. Also hoping that I can just unplug the old and then clip the wiring right into the new.

http://www.overtons.com/modperl/product/details.cgi?pdesc=Rule-Mate-Automatic-Bilge-Pump-RM750-750-GPH&i=24979&r=view&from=grid

Lumbergh
02-27-2013, 11:02 AM
Amazon sells a variety of bilge pumps.

Usually the best prices as well.

Worst case, clip wires and install new pump.

Easy project, sometimes tight quarters but nothing to worry about.

Table Rocker
02-27-2013, 11:05 AM
If it will run, you might take it apart. There is an impeller in there that might be full of carpet fibers and sludge. If you break it, you haven't really lost anything.

Table Rocker
02-27-2013, 11:24 AM
Here are some instructions:

rgardjr1
02-27-2013, 11:27 AM
When I replace mine a couple of years ago I was able to find and exact replacement on Ebay. The basket that the pump mounts to on the bottom of the boat may not be the same-pull yours out and see if you can tell compared to the picture on the Overton's page.

WC205
02-27-2013, 11:31 AM
Awesome. I'll check it out before I buy anything. Thanks.

Table Rocker
02-27-2013, 11:40 AM
Awesome. I'll check it out before I buy anything. Thanks.
Glad to help, let us know how it goes.

rgardjr1
02-27-2013, 02:07 PM
If you do end up needing one I saw this one on Ebay that was the older version:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/370765432870
Once you pull yours out to see if you can get it pumping you'll be able to tell if this one would be a direct replacement.

WC205
04-18-2013, 05:57 PM
Glad to help, let us know how it goes.

You were right. Just full of filth muck in there. Cleaned it out and it pumped. You saved me some cash so THANKS!!

Table Rocker
04-18-2013, 05:58 PM
You were right. Just full of filth muck in there. Cleaned it out and it pumped. You saved me some cash so THANKS!!
I'm glad it worked out. Thanks for the update.

magnum
05-14-2013, 12:07 AM
Rule Mate 750 Pump , does anyone know if you can change from the older version Rule mate with the float switch to I assume the newer version without the float switch, somehow it detects if there is water that needs pumped , the mounting base is different on the newer version