PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new throttle cable?


youngman
02-26-2013, 06:30 AM
Hi, own a 1994 prostar 190. When I move the throttle lever forward it goes into gear as normal, but when I try to accelerate up to speed nothing happens until the lever is almost as far as it goes. In this position the boat would normally be doing about 44mph but now is only doing about 20mph. Everything looks ok behind the lever beside the drivers seat. Has this happened to anyone, or any ideas on what I should be looking for. Much appreciated.

mayo93prostar
02-26-2013, 08:45 AM
Sounds like your throttle cable may have come loose at the "carb". Check that first. Second is to check the cable connection behind the throttle lever. If it is moving some, I doubt you need a new cable but you may. I assume you have fuel injection in a 94.

Shooter McKevin
02-26-2013, 04:42 PM
If you have perfect pass then I'd say it's the tension knob (or whatever perfect pass calls it). Mine does that occasionally and the knob needs to be re-wound manually.

TxsRiverRat
02-26-2013, 05:46 PM
I had the same issue in 2012, we replaced a little piece in the throttle assembly itself... I'm not sure what it's called... Jeff Knight @ Texas Mastercraft will know what you need and what it's called. My throttle is perfect now.

Epimetheus
04-29-2013, 06:50 PM
Did you get to the bottom of this? I have the same problem and I figure the cable is stretched. I adjusted it as far as I could but wasn't enough. So I figure a new cable will be the fix?