PDA

View Full Version : 1979 stars and stripes

cewilkins
02-19-2013, 06:17 PM
Iam starting to restore my 79 stars and stripes,I am new to boat restoration and would be very thankful for any of you to give me some advise, so far I know I haft to replace a section of a stringer that the transmission mounts to, I haft to replace the floor and all the upholstrey, The engine I have is in great shape and runs well, But the transmission needs rebulding, What advise would yall start me out at on these subjects and were do yall buy parts for this boat. Thanks , again any advice would be greatly welcomed

thatsmrmastercraft
02-19-2013, 06:24 PM
Welcome to Team Talk. You came to the right place in search of and and all info needed to bring your boat back to life. For starters, if the stringer under the transmission is bad, you should be replacing the whole thing. I have not heard of anyone piecing one together, but I suppose one could sister in support. And if you are in the process of replacing the floor, this would be a good opportunity to do the stringers.

Discount Inboard Marine has many of the parts you will need in servicing your boat. http://www.skidim.com/

You can get the trans parts from SKIDIM and do the work yourself if you are reasonably handy.

Would love to see some pictures.

cewilkins
02-19-2013, 07:49 PM
Thanks I hope to post some pics this weekend, When you say replace the hole thing do you mean that whole stringer or all the stringers, the rest of the stringers in the boat seam pretty solid? I guess i shouldnt be concernd about cosmetics right now but i cant help to worry about the seating, mainly the observation seat some one has took the origanal out and put just a bench seat, I would like to get a more orignal look out of it could I just buil one out of wood?,And back to the stringers is douglas fir the best type of wood to replace them or coul I use treated pine?

SWGA Boater
02-19-2013, 08:39 PM