PDA

View Full Version : New to Boating-Advice on 05 X-2

radchad3
01-22-2013, 07:06 PM
Hello everyone! I am new to the boating scene and would like some advice on a boat I would like to buy. First off, the boat would be for my wife and I. We would mainly be using it to wakeboard, a little skiing, and for general lake entertainment. Would be carrying 4-8 people. I have looked through the boat buying FAQ but wanted to get the forum's thoughts.

The boat is a 2005 X-2. Features include:

- 1 owner- no problems ever according to the owner
- 100 hrs on MCX motor
- Bimini Top
- Single axle trailer
- 2 tower speakers (unsure on brand)
- Teak platform
- Perfect pass
- No aftermarket parts that I know of
- All maintenance done.
- On a lift during the summer, in heated storage during the winter
- $37k

The story on the boat seems good but being new to boats I am a little hesitant to purchase a boat without getting it into the water (it is winter in this neck of the woods).

1. Is that asking price reasonable for this boat?
2. Is there anything I need to be looking for in this particular year/model?
3. Would you buy a boat without a test spin?

Any other thoughts?

Thank you all very much for the insight and am very excited to become part of the MC family, whether it be soon or down the road!

Chad

mikeg205
01-22-2013, 07:12 PM
Here read this thread chad...great write up by easttx. The only thing that needs adding is that for the first season you have to tow a fellow Team Talker at least 10 times. If this was Australia you would get towed 10 times :)

buying tips (http://mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showpost.php?p=257514&postcount=47)

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
01-22-2013, 07:13 PM
Based on my short price check $37k is average for that year and model, the early-mid models had issues with the vinyl splitting and I would not buy without a test drive.

example

http://onlyinboards.com/Details.aspx?ID=35564
Changed url, sorry

sand2snow22
01-22-2013, 07:19 PM