PDA

View Full Version : Slalom Ski Recommendations?

mxhideout
12-04-2012, 05:50 PM
Since it's winter here, I figured I might as well start looking for my first ski. First off, I'm looking for something used due to my budget. I'm a newb to slalom on the water, and have never even been behind an MC before. With that said, I want something fairly aggressive so I don't outgrow it in a few months, and in case I want to compete.

I don't know much about skis, so I'm just looking for some suggestions on what to look for. I'm 5'6" and about 140lbs.

mikeg205
12-04-2012, 06:41 PM
Get an HO Comp Free Ride.. Easy to get up on and it will take you thru a course. But forget competing...you'll be wiped out by the higher end ski's... Start with a open water ski like the Free Ride, then move to a cross-over and if your better than the ski...then go syndicate... There are many ski's on ebay this time of year.... and at www.ski-it-again. just my opinion - i am sure other skiers will chime in.

Don't forget a ski plan...start with something sell it..move on.. :)

corey
12-04-2012, 06:48 PM
Dude, you're right up the street from us (Midwest MasterCraft) stop in anytime to talk skis we're always happy to help even if you don't buy a ski from us, as mike stated ski it again is a great resource, we're working with the Minnesota Waterski Association too so hopefully we can get some of them to upgrade to new skis and get their used ones into some new hands.

We have some pretty good closeouts cooking and we also offer a demo program so if you don't find anything before spring you can still hit the water for ice out.

mxhideout
12-04-2012, 07:14 PM
What size ski should I be looking for? I may check out Midwest mc if I ever get the free time to go down there.

corey
12-04-2012, 07:19 PM
How fast are you skiing?

mxhideout
12-04-2012, 07:25 PM
Not sure yet. I'm guessing 34 or 36.

mikeg205
12-04-2012, 07:43 PM
Corey will set you up...plus they have that black x-10 :)

mxhideout