PDA

View Full Version : The new house is FINALLY started......

Pages : [1] 2 3

jkski
12-03-2012, 08:15 AM
Well, after over a year of planning, giving several gallons of blood to the bank and several years of thinking/gathering advice, we FINALLY broke ground on the new house this past weekend. Here are a few pics from the big dig. For anyone who is interested, I will do my best to update this with new pics as we move along.

SkiDog
12-03-2012, 08:23 AM
Cool! As a builder, I'd like to see progression pics of your project! Good thing you broke ground BEFORE the ground FROZE!:D

jkski
12-03-2012, 08:50 AM
I think had the bank delayed us another week or 2 we would have been forced to wait until spring. The forecast is looking good for work the footer work today but truthfully not so good the rest of the week with rain chances nearly every day. We went with the Advantech flooring, which was a major factor for me in moving forward thru the winter/wet months. They are figuring that if all goes well, framing will begin around Christmas, likely a little before, so I will be spending my forseeable weekends on a dozer!

Jerseydave
12-03-2012, 08:53 AM
Congrats! Details, details!

What type of HVAC system are you doing?
Garage for you boat? (remember, it can never be TOO big!)

After having built 2 houses, I know now what mistakes I made and what I would do differently the next time around (if there is a next time)

mikeg205
12-03-2012, 09:04 AM
Built - (okay - bought 2 custom homes and worked closely with a small home GC) - breaking ground was the most fun. Nice location...yes...many pictures... Ditto on the big garage... Don't forget the work bech nook and you can also have a beefed ceiling rafter system designed to lift boat off trailer... :D.. Don't forget gas line to garage heater and a couple 220v 50amp power lines for man tools...:D

thatsmrmastercraft
12-03-2012, 09:46 AM
Beautiful location.

jkski
12-03-2012, 09:49 AM
Thanks guys: