PDA

View Full Version : Replaced My Starter - Pictures

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:48 PM
I was able to replace the starter on my 1990 PS190. I am no mechanic, but all the good advice from you folks gave me the confidence to tackle it myself. Thanks!

I kept the camera handy and took pictures along the way so maybe it will help someone else.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:49 PM
Step 1 - locate the starter behind the blower hose on the right side.
Oh yeah - be sure to disconnect the battery before starting so there are no surprises.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:51 PM
Step 2 - remove blower hose.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:52 PM
Step 3 - remove electrical connection.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:53 PM
Step 4 - remove starter (2 bolts)

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:55 PM
A look at the teeth on the old starter. They don't look too bad. I did notice that the solenoid on the old starter move a lot harder than on the new one.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:57 PM
Step 5 - take a look at teeth the on the fly wheel. Did not see any unusual wear.
I was not able to turn the motor manually, so I could not check the rest of the teeth.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 09:59 PM
Someone mentioned a shim on my starter. I am not sure if this is the shim that he was talking about.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 10:00 PM
Step 6 - install new starter.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 10:01 PM
Step 7 - reconnect the electrical connection.

RickDV
09-03-2005, 10:02 PM
Step 8 - replace the blower hose. Reconnect the battery. Done!

BriEOD
09-03-2005, 10:21 PM
That rear bolt on the starter is always fun to get at it. I have to use like 4 6" extensions to get it out.

pup
09-03-2005, 10:31 PM
It's a good feeling to repair your own boat & have the job go smoothly.
From a safety standpoint, you should always dissconnect the battery negative cable before performing electrical repairs or any repairs where spinning parts could mess you up.

bigmac
09-03-2005, 11:13 PM