PDA

View Full Version : Front of boat gets close to water?

Matt7246
09-08-2012, 02:11 PM
I have a 1997 Mastercraft Maristar 200v and i feel like the front of the boat is very close to the water and when i'm driving fast and slow down really fast put just going from 3/4 throttle to neutral the front of the boat dips in the water and literally comes within inches of the water flowing over and in the boat...

Is this normal or is something wrong with my boat?

mikeg205
09-08-2012, 02:17 PM
normal..mine does the same thing...if you notice when the wake comes up to your transom the stern of your boat raises up...as long as this does not happen your ok...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68AOltMu768

Traxx822
09-08-2012, 02:26 PM
I have the same boat. If you are on plane and just throw it in neutral when you come to a stop the wake will catch up and dip your nose forward. So pull back to 1200 or 1000 rpms and hold it until the wake settles. Otherwise your bow comes within a half inch with any weight in it. And keep under power if piercing through some fat waves or it'll be a tidal wave in your boat. Trust me ;)

Also look at your boat on a trailer on level ground. You will notice the bow dips down pretty far on its own. I'm guessing to add room to the bow.

CC2MC
09-08-2012, 02:31 PM
I know i have the older model but I haven't noticed mine getting that close to the water when decelerating. I will have to notice next time I am out there.

I remember seeing that video the first time when I worked for CC. Craziness!

Miss Rita
09-08-2012, 07:34 PM
Another way to prevent the bow from dipping too low is to pull the throttle lever back all the way to neutral. That way the prop freewheels, doesn't slow the boat as much as it does when you leave it in gear.

Matt7246
09-10-2012, 01:24 PM
Thanks guys i appreciate all your input i feel so much better now cause i thought something was wrong with my boat...