PDA

View Full Version : What are a good pair of combo skies?

mondos829
09-07-2012, 01:58 PM
I an looking for a good pair of combo skies i am still learning on two skies at the moment. But have been using other people stuff. Any sudjestions on whst to buy?

I am 5 ft 9 in 130 lbs.

Or does anyone have anything for sale?

oxberger
09-07-2012, 03:56 PM
Mondo, do you plan on moving up to slalom skiing or are you looking for a set of skis just to tool around on? For a novice they usually recommend a wide bodied set of skis, they tend to be slower and help when coming out of the water. Someone your size, you'll want a 65" set. If you're looking to progress to a single ski or slalom I would recommend the bottoms to be full concave (these tend to be the easiest to turn, that sometimes makes them a little more difficult to learn on, but once you get the hang of it its a non issue). I wouldn't worry about edge bevel (usually full bevel for novice) or stiffness until you become proficeint at skiing. I'd go with either the Radar X-caliber combos or Connelly Eclipse combos.

BrooksfamX2
09-07-2012, 04:28 PM
I like O'Brien Performers.........

http://www.waterskis.com/OBrien-Performer-Pro-Combo-Water-Skis-p/obrien_performer_combos.htm

oxberger
09-07-2012, 04:42 PM
I like O'Brien Performers.........

http://www.waterskis.com/OBrien-Performer-Pro-Combo-Water-Skis-p/obrien_performer_combos.htm

I forgot about those. Those are real nice.

Miss Rita
09-11-2012, 10:04 AM
The Performers are tried and true, have been around for decades. I have a pair from the early 80's or even late 70's. They are a great "adult" air of skis.

In your original post you say that you are 5'9'', 130 lbs. May I suggest a smaller air of skis? A pair of youth-sized combos may be just the ticket.