PDA

View Full Version : Buffing out for the first time

memphis23
08-15-2012, 04:16 PM
I have never used a buffer before so I am a little concerned about the process of buffing waxing etc...

The boat looks pretty good(no oxidization just a little dull) I would like it to look great and I think it would with a good detailing. Is this something I should have a shop do or is it something a novice can handle without completely screwing up the finish?

LYNRDSKYNRD
08-15-2012, 04:30 PM
Gel coat is relative thick and tuff it's hard to mess it up. Give it a go you should be fine. You know we will want before and after pics....so don't forget to take some photo's:)

maristardd
08-15-2012, 04:53 PM
Related question I think - how much overspray / splatter do you typically get? I watch the you tube videos and no one is making a mess. But even with small amounts that I just started to try, I'm spraying everything pretty good. ... are you masking things off as if you were painting (nearby areas you DON'T want compound or buffing). Or use even less?

memphis23
08-15-2012, 04:58 PM
I did not know you are supposed to mask off anything. what do you cover the decals?

Thrall
08-15-2012, 05:38 PM
You can minimize the splatter by starting out slowly and getting the compound or polish worked into the pad each application, but it's still going to splatter some. Wipes off with a wet rag though.
Another tip, once the pad is pretty heavy with compound, you don't need to keep adding compund continuously. Just sprinkle a little water onto the pad and keep polishing.
As said above, gel is pretty thick and hard to burn thru. Just watch out to not put alot of pressure directly on outside corners. Flat surfaces, you'd give up before burning thru.
There's a bunch of threads on this in this section of the forum.
It's not very technical and the results are great....do it.

memphis23
08-15-2012, 06:10 PM
Do I need to mask anything off?

maristardd
08-15-2012, 07:35 PM