PDA

View Full Version : How to properly park a mastercraft?

Matt7246
08-02-2012, 12:26 AM
I am very new to boating and i just bought a 1997 Mastercraft Maristar with the Corvette LT1 engine in it. I am having so much trouble parking it i can't even explain lol...

Unlike other boats this has a V-drive and the prop doesn't go up or down. For some reason when i am approaching my dock as soon as i put it in neutral the boat makes a hardddd left turn so what i have been doing it just coming in with it just ever so slightly clicked in gear and then ram reverse before i crash into the dock (still very fast though for parking, all my passengers always go woah woah woah and then i slame reverse and they're all like "dude!, woah woah woah!, phew! :confused:, i thought u were taking the dock out man!". This seems to be the only way i have somewhat control of the boat while parking it. I see everyone else come into the dock and they just line up and some even turn the boat completely off and the thing just coasts right into the space like a piece of cake.

Is there a certain way, trick or anything i am supposed to be doing to park a V-drive stationary prop driven boat ?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

onebadrubi
08-02-2012, 12:31 AM
I have learned over the years to come in and work from the right. You only have control of these boats in reverse if you can allow the back in to drift the right (steering wheel side). THis is because the way the prop spins.

If you are approaching a straight ahead dock then just click forward and work back and forth from neutral to gear to get your desired speed.

No real definite trick, just keep trying and take it slow with "all hands on deck" ready to help. Maybe define your docking space so we can throw some ideas to you.

Limpkin
08-02-2012, 12:33 AM