PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Repair Question

cmarston
07-31-2012, 01:16 PM
I have an 03 Mastercraft Trailer for my X-30. The other week I noticed that one of the wheels was hot to the touch compared to the other wheels and a burnt smell coming from it. I brought it into our local tire/brake place to have them look at it b/c the nearest Mastercraft dealership is about an hour away and now three out of the four wheels are hot to touch and same burnt smell.

Prior to this issue, for the most part, since I purchased it over a year ago, I have always had to place a screwdriver between the actuator (don't know if I have the term correct) and the tongue in order to be able to back up. I don't know if this is related.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone might have some ideas on what is going wrong with the trailer. I am not too mechanical and don't want to get taken advantage of if it might be a straightforward fix. Thanks in advance for any help!

bturner2
07-31-2012, 03:03 PM
Chances are if you have a MC trailer you have Reliable brakes (calipers and actuator). The orginal calipers have a known issue of hanging and causing overheating problems from "dragging" the pads. Reliable was replacing the calipers for free with Kodiak calipers while they were in business but it would appear they are no longer in business. That being said the fix would be to replace all the calipers and bleed the brakes. I did this on my 03 X2 and did a post on this site. You should also be able to do a search on the site and find a ton of posts with this very issue. Unless MC is stepping up and replacing these now, which I doubt after all these years you'll probably be on the hook for the parts.