PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Fluid in Hull

Romaswake
07-29-2012, 12:07 PM
Hey all!

I have a 2002 Mastercraft Maristar 210 and have been noticing a build up of transmission fluid in the hull... I took it in for service at my local marina, and they flushed the transmission and changed the fluid 3 times then said they ran it fine for a good 45 minutes with out any leaks or such... When i got the boat home from service yesterday i scrubed the hull out so it was bone dry... This morning i went out waterskiing and then filled up the ballast and went boarding and when i got back i checked the hull and there was a good amount of fluid in it already! (Only 2 hours of operation from return from service.) After poking around the engine compartment for a little i found small chucks of rubber or gasket like material by the rudder. My theory is that the gasket of the propeller shaft from the transmission is bad, but i have no technical experience with engines at all. Hopefully some input from you guys can help me figure out what is actually going on and some honest answers instead of the misleading answers you always get from marinas to make a few more bucks! Thanks in advanced guys!

Spence

Attached are some pictures of the rubber i found, fluid by the rudder and fluid in the center hole in front on the gas tank, and lastly one of the propeller shaft.

http://i949.photobucket.com/albums/ad335/snowno24/photo2.jpg
http://i949.photobucket.com/albums/ad335/snowno24/photo1.jpg
http://i949.photobucket.com/albums/ad335/snowno24/photo-1.jpg
http://i949.photobucket.com/albums/ad335/snowno24/photo3.jpg

CantRepeat
07-29-2012, 12:22 PM
I would think it's possible that you didn't get all the transmission fluid out of the boat when you cleaned it. Then you has the some water coming in through the shaft and it just mixed back up.