PDA

View Full Version : Engine cuts to nuetral Alarm goes off

mastercraftx9
07-26-2012, 05:09 PM
I have a 05 Mastercraft X-9 and while pulling someone at surf speeds (10 mph) or wakeboarding speeds (22-24mph) with the boat weighted with fat sacs the boat will randomly cut out to neutral and the rpms will go to an idle speed. Then about 5 seconds after that it will beep and flash check engine. I then move the throttle back to nuetral and shut it off and turn it back on and it seems to clear the error for the time being. Has anyone else had this type of issue? I have the two stock ballast bags full, and I put a fat sac next to the engine compartment on each side. Is it possible the engine isn't getting enough air? Any thoughts/comments would be appreciated. Thanks!

ricford
07-26-2012, 06:01 PM
Check for fault codes. If the check engine light came on, there will be a code stored.

bobx1
07-26-2012, 06:32 PM
Is it going into 'limp' mode?

petermegan
07-26-2012, 06:55 PM
Isn't the transmission cable controlled? Is the gear lever still showing it is in gear, but you have no drive?

willyt
07-27-2012, 09:52 AM
we need WAYYYY more information to diagnosis this problem:
whats your temp?
whats your volts?
whats your oil pressure?
any vibration?
any trouble starting it recently?
engine running smoothly?
whats your fuel pressure?

my initial thought is it sounds like a TPS sensor if its cutting down to idle speed. limp mode is above idle, and TPS are designed to fail into the idle mode.

93Prostar190
07-29-2012, 08:24 AM
Speed control on when this happens? If so, does it happen when speed control is not in use?

mastercraftx9
07-30-2012, 04:02 PM
It does NOT happen when speed control is not activated.

Gear lever is still engaged in forward and there is no forward movement at all.

I'm assuming limp mode means you can go slow back to shore. I can't go in forward or reverse at all