PDA

View Full Version : 94' Mastercraft Prostar 205 trailer brakes AND tow question!! help ASAP

shocker47
07-09-2012, 05:34 PM
Hello, I have a 1994 Mastercraft prostar 205. Well here's my problem. I want to take the boat about 3 hours away from where it's docked and the main car I use a 07 trailblazer can't be used. I have a new 2011 Ford edge sel that may be an option. What is the weight of this boat WITH the trailer and can a ford edge pull this kind of weight ~3 hours or so highway mostly. What tow rig should I be looking at? Now heres my main problem. The trailers brakes. Well when I took the boat off the trailer I noticed the brakes were not there. Only a metal rod/tube and looks to be a rusted and broke off? Brakes look like they are still intact but I am guessing the WHOLE master cylinder rusted off. What are my options? Take it in for professional work? Who should I look for?

Thanks guys.

Footin
07-09-2012, 05:51 PM
The boat and trailer with nothing in it are about 3,500 pounds. Others may disagree but I say the Edge can do it if it is mostly highway. Make sure to keep room for stopping.

Rockman
07-09-2012, 05:53 PM
The boat and trailer with nothing in it are about 3,500 pounds. Others may disagree but I say the Edge can do it if it is mostly highway. Make sure to keep room for stopping.

Agree with Footin...putz! :D

What up Mike!?;)

shocker47
07-09-2012, 05:56 PM
Sounds good. I am worried about the trailer brakes. How much will it run me for a whole new setup?

mikeg205
07-09-2012, 06:22 PM
You can price out what you need at www.pacifictrailer.com

cost me about $600 to redo most of it. Not counting 3 new tires.

shocker47
07-09-2012, 07:20 PM
Can my ford edge launch a boat and recover it after a long day without any problems whatsoever?

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
07-09-2012, 07:36 PM
The edge has a tow capacity of 3500 lbs, so can the edge do it...probably yes just barely

Thrall
07-09-2012, 08:51 PM