PDA

View Full Version : Teaching slalom deep start

JohnnyB
07-04-2012, 08:16 AM
I am excited as my 12 yr old announced last night she wants to finish learning her deep water slalom start.

Was getting it on the boom w pigtail last fall....now going to long line.

I self taught myself to slalom deep up 30+ yrs ago......any new school pointers?

Sent from my PB99400 using Tapatalk

mikeg205
07-04-2012, 05:03 PM
cheater rope.... http://www.overtons.com/modperl/product/details.cgi?pdesc=Gladiator-Slalom-Trainer-Ski-Rope&i=44426&str=ski+rope&merchID=4005

takes a lot of the frustration out of it.

Calincanada
07-04-2012, 06:34 PM
As a 12 yr old may be tough as she wont be strong enough to hang on. Maybe she is, i dont know.
I was taught to put the ski up, bend knees to chest, stay leaned or weighted back. Arms extended, if you ride left foot forward put the rope on the left side of the ski. Let the boat pull you, once ski is moving forward stay leaned back until ski stops darting, extend legs out as boat pulls forward.
I never learned to drop a ski, only deep water. Works great, but i dont know if i culd have done it at 12, need to hold tough for 2 seconds than stand .

Good luck.

madcityskier
07-04-2012, 06:59 PM
A short rope on an extended pylon helps with pulling them up. I've had great luck being in the water with them. You can hold the tail of the ski with two fingers for a tiny bit of added stability and the same on the back of their vest to help keep them from going out the front if they're looking down. Also gives a calming influence. Did this for my daughter on her first two deep water starts. By the third I was just near her in the water. She is twelve as well.

03geetee
07-04-2012, 09:21 PM
Good driving helps, put that confidence in them that you are going to get them up even though they are doing most of the work.

I remember my first time, oh wait skiing thats right.....

LOL

JTR

D3skier
07-04-2012, 10:16 PM