PDA

View Full Version : Mind= blown

Deltaxstar
06-27-2012, 01:45 PM
So on Saturday I'm driving my boat in the no wake zone stereo about half way up then bam the interior speakers and one set of tower speakers just shut off I'm like ***? So I turn the stereo off turn it back on and still nothing. My amps are installed in such a way that they are kind of impossible to work on without removing the amp rack. So when I get home I move the amp rack to get look at the connections. I tested both amps pos and neg checked all my grounds and tested my remote wire. Checked fuses and even tested both sides of the fuse while powered. Now I'm no dummy with electricity I'm a journey electrician I used a real multimeter. So I called zapco and told them what I just typed and they are completely baffled lol he keeps telling me it's something in the install of the boat but I've tested everything twice. I know they didn't overheat because it wasn't on that long or loud enough and I have 6 fans and a vent cut in. It's not a crossed speaker wire that doesn't explain two for different sets of speakers. So long story short I sent them to zapco but before I did I opened the top plate on both and seen zero signs of burns or arcing no funny smells or anything. Just wanted to see some of your thoughts

02ProstarSammyD
06-27-2012, 01:59 PM
Ok lets think about this reasonably. What are the correlations between the one set of tower speakers and the interior speakers? Are they on the same amp?

Also did you check your rca connections at the head unit?

76S&S
06-27-2012, 03:20 PM
Did the low voltage alarm go off? I would start with charging the battery or batteries fully and then go from there.

Deltaxstar
06-27-2012, 03:51 PM
Two separate amps only thing in common with the two is they power mids n highs

Voltage is on point 12.4v with engine off. Plus my other two amps in the same rack wired to the same distribution block work.

02ProstarSammyD
06-27-2012, 03:58 PM
What about the rca's?