PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with Fishermen??

thekubiaks
06-26-2012, 11:46 AM
I've been boating for thirty years but I've only had my Mastercraft for two years (great boats btw). I have noticed an interesting trend and am just checking to see if anyone else has these issues. Maybe it is me but it seems that Fishermen are getting unusually hostile towards "fancy" ski/wakebaord boats in my area.

I've been on three different lakes and had them go out of there way to make close passes while we had swimmers close to the boat. One actually hit my ski rope while kids were swimming behind the boat, words were exchanged after I chased him into the no wake zone. Several instances at the boat dock claiming that I tied off at the dock too long to go get my car??..two minutes, seriously.. I called the law enforcement office for the area but by the way he responded, I think he fishes with the same group.

Anyway, I haven't done anything different since owning a Mastercraft, I give them plenty of room, I haven't been impolite, and am not rude but seriously, W TF?? Is there a memo I didn't get??

I'd appreciate any insights or thoughts...

mzimme
06-26-2012, 11:52 AM
The fishermen on the lake I run on feel that they own the lake. They sit in the calm water fishing, then just stare me down as we run sets back and forth by the section theyre fishing in. I don't really care. I'm not being unsafe in my distances, and generally I was there first... so they can just fish and get hit with a wake here and there. Our lake is divided basically in half. South of a certain bridge you're able to ski all you want. North of the bridge is like a "habitat reserve" thing, with lots of down trees and that sort of thing. Skiing isn't allowed, so the fisherman have about 3500 acres of lake where they can go be happy.