PDA

View Full Version : Repacking Bearings

IdahoSnake
06-21-2012, 12:24 PM
I am looking at getting the bearings repacked on my single axel trailer and the tire store wants to charge me $105 to do it. I have looked around at it appears that new seals only cost about $5. I have never done this before on any trailer but might give it a go. Any tips, special tools needed, or should I just pony up the cash and save the hassel?

Sorry if this has already been covered but I did not find another thread on this.

Any help is appreciated.

psychobilly
06-21-2012, 01:10 PM
When repacking them be sure NOT to mix them up. Make sure you keep the bearing with the race that it has been riding in, don't mix them up. Usually if you do one wheel at a time there's not much chance as they are usually 2 different sizes. If you get gung ho and pull everything apart, clean everything, pack them and then go back together you can get them mixed up and that ain't good.

You may want to get you a seal puller, but a screw driver will work. There is a thread in here on this as we all have discussed this before as I remember posting a pic of a seal puller. You just have to read through a bunch of threads. That's the best part about researching a project on here. The amount of reading you have to actually do to find what you're looking for, you actually end up learning about other things.

Miss Rita
06-21-2012, 03:56 PM
Here's a link that should help:

http://www.championtrailers.com/techsup.html (http://http://championtrailers.com/techsup.html#packhubs)

mayo93prostar
06-21-2012, 04:52 PM
if you are just repacking, it is pretty easy and you need to replace the bearing seals on the inside of the hub. I have a seal puller tool that makes it easy but a pair of pliers may work also. You could also replace the bearings and the races but this is more work and may require a press for the races.

mayo93prostar
06-21-2012, 04:53 PM
Here's a link that should help: