PDA

View Full Version : 09 x-star taking on water

pud167
06-19-2012, 03:08 AM
Hello I'm new to the TT and also new to the world of Inboards. I have always owned I/O.
I have a 2009 x-star that I have always got winterized and serviced at Mastercraft. This year when I put the boat in the water for the first time, after one night of sitting at the dock I noticed the boat was taking on water. The boat is parked only where there is calm water. Now all my other boats had only one plug so my first question is there two compartments on the x-star a front and back. The water is in the front compartment, if it is segregated. At the same time my speedometer is reading 10 mph while at idle. Iím sure this will be better for a different thread but I just want to give all the info I can.
So any suggestion where I should start looking for the problem? I was also going to pull the boat out of the water then fill it up for a bit with a garden hose and see if I can find some leaks that way.
Also is there such thing as a full service manual for these boats.
Thanks for all the help. Just trying to learn my boat.

scott023
06-19-2012, 10:02 AM
I think your boat has two hull plugs, one on the transom and one beside the drivers chair.

If you are still taking water on, I would check water pump hoses and freeze plugs. After that, could be drive shaft packing or speedo paddlewheel leakage.

Also, If you go into your settings page on your main screen, you should be able to recalibrate your gauges.

ttu
06-19-2012, 10:13 AM
check out the hoses like scott said. also might look at greasing the rudder. on my 07 i had a horrible leak at the rudder and ended up replacing the rudder seal.

pud167
06-19-2012, 10:38 AM
Thanks for the reply I will check your suggestions out. So if Im getting water in from the motor area it will show up by the driver seat plug, they are not two seperate areas correct.

jmw
06-19-2012, 10:55 AM