PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - boat guidance

fish2live
06-08-2012, 12:55 AM
Here's the criteria, I've always loved MC boats, envied them on the water, now it's time to own one....

Lake Washington Seattle

I'm a boating novice of late, but I grew up around skiing and boats and love the surfing I've done

Surfing mainly (Priority #1), some wakeboarding and tubing

Want a deeper V if possible to handle larger waves on weekends

Need 12-16 people (12 is fine, 16 would be great frosting on the cake!!)

Must have stock ballasts, or be able to upgrade to a nice surf wake, not a "perfect" surf wake, but I do want a very nice one - large area, nice curl, tall etc

Budget of up to $35K, maybe $40-$45K if it's a killer deal. But, I'd love to stick at $25-30K if at all possible.

I'm all about the good deal, so I'll be patient with my purchase

Options I've liked so far....

2001-2002 MariStar, pretty basic, but low hours (150-300) no perfect pass, no tower, but only $22K - I've seen several in this config

2002-2005 x30 - love the options (ballast, PP, tower etc) but the good deals go FAST, typically $28-$38K. I am leaning in this direction, seems like the right balance of price, deep V and options - what do you think??

2007 x30 - high hours, 750 on an (LY6) but new upholstery provided upon purchase, $40K, but the rest of the boat is really nice plus it seats 16 which is ideal

x15, x25, x45?? XStar??

OTHER OPTIONS????

Also, do any of these models have a "sweet spot" on the years that are good or bad?? Engines to stay away from? I hear the LY6 might take more RPMs and some people don't like them??

Thanks Team Talk

kgrove
06-08-2012, 01:20 AM
I have a couple comments: