PDA

View Full Version : Question About Skiing

DJ 50
06-03-2012, 03:07 AM
Ok so I am no expert skier as many of you will figure out from this post. I just bought a new HO Coefficient X which was an upgrade from a 10 yr old hand me down. So I got out on it for the first time this weekend. I found out (the hard way) that when I cut to the right, I ski left foot forward, the ski grabbed very hard and rocketed me across the wake. Now I assume this is because I never skied properly and never really got on my edge to cut across the wake, all open water skiing not course by the way. I also assume the newer ski design just naturally wants to go on its edge when I cut, and this is the grabbing feeling that I felt and also the reason for the faster wake crossing. So would that assumption be right and that's just the way I should be skiing? Or is there a fin adjustment (really no idea what adjusting the fin does) I need to make in order to reduce that grabbing feeling?

D3skier
06-03-2012, 03:44 AM
not being a course skier and just starting out on a new ski I wouldn't suggest making any fin adjustments until you get a better feel for the ski and know what the adjustments will do.

Jeff Lyman
06-03-2012, 10:34 AM
@ DJ50 your right on buddy! That rocket is the ski doing its thing 100%. Now your in the mode of most of us trying to keep our bodies attached to the ski as the rocket takes off! A high performance ski is made to ride on its side period. Cross the wake flat and you will be an airplane.

D3 is right dont touch the wing its for slowing down before rounding a bouye. Take it off if you like it. Check out BOS site Ballofspray.com, lots of pros skiers on it and great threads to learn by.

SkiDog
06-03-2012, 10:58 AM