PDA

View Full Version : Overheated on maiden voyage

Pitch
06-01-2012, 12:09 AM
Took the boat out for first time since purchase yesterday. Ran it from the dock for about 45 seconds before steam started coming from engine and the temp gauge went to 220. Shut her down and limped back to dock.

There was pressurized steam coming from the drain valve on the right riser. The thermostat was seized, and the housing hadn't seen Amy water for some time. All water hoses were bone dry.

Checked impeller and here its what I saw.

Would this fubared impeller cause my problems?

Ordered a pump rebuild kit, so I'm hoping it's the problem.

Thanks

curtish
06-01-2012, 12:12 AM
Bingo!

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 using Tapatalk

nkorep2
06-01-2012, 12:13 AM
yup, I dont see that thing delivering any water where its needed.

Pitch
06-01-2012, 12:16 AM
Really wish I would have checked it before trailering 100 miles to the lake. Hindsight is 20/20 I suppose. I'm new to boats and did not realize these impellers need periodic replacement.

Brian B
06-01-2012, 02:59 AM
Annually. Its cheap insurance.

hewlett6621
06-01-2012, 03:12 AM
Change it every year. If the impeller you take out is still in good condition keep it in the boat as a spare.

bturner2
06-01-2012, 06:32 AM
Check to make sure the valve in the bottom of the boat is open to let water into the system. Also check for obstructions in the trans cooler. Not sure but that impeller looks like it was run dry and melted which would be the case if the valve was left closed. Typically an impeller even as bad as that one will flow some water somewhere. From your post it sounds like you didn't see any.

mayo93prostar
06-01-2012, 07:01 AM