PDA

View Full Version : Did I kill my ballast pump?

Duane D
05-26-2012, 10:19 PM
Today while cruising with the wife, kids and in-laws in my '06 X2 I turned in the starboard ballast pump to level out the boat. I've never done that before, but I thought it would be easier than asking someone to move to make the boat more level.

I filled the starboard tank plus about 50 lbs or so in my fly high sac and the boat was planing flat. When I got close to my dock I flipped the switch to empty the tank and nothing happened. The light comes on when I flipped the switch, but the pump does nothing.

I am wondering if I harmed my pump by filling it while under way at about 22 miles an hour.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks!

mcxfan
05-27-2012, 12:38 AM
sometimes they get stuck in one direction. Try toggling it back and forth to see if that works. Also you have a breaker below your rear left seat. Lift the seat and see if it popped.

Duane D
05-27-2012, 09:35 AM
Thanks MCXfan. I toggled a couple of times and checked the breakers. My plan today is to take the impeller cover off and see if there is any noticeable damage on the inside. I appreciate your input!

swatguy
05-28-2012, 01:21 AM
As mentioned check impellar for blockage or worn parts. Filling while running at 22mph will not harm your pumps in any way whatsoever.

NeilM
05-28-2012, 02:48 AM
I don't know if the Plumbing has changed a whole bunch, but I cannot fill my 02 at anything over about 1500 rpm.

Duane D
05-28-2012, 09:26 AM
I guess it was just time for it to go. I can't see any blockage or damage with the cover removed. I flipped the switch on and off with the cover off and the shaft wouldn't move. The haft would turn manually but not under it's own power. I went ahead and ordered up a new pump from wakemakers.com last night.

Thanks for the input all!

CantRepeat
05-28-2012, 09:46 AM
Is the pump mounted with the impeller facing up or down?

Duane D
05-28-2012, 09:49 AM