PDA

View Full Version : ecu


Flatwaterfooter
05-26-2012, 09:53 PM
Lost all my gauges today and is flashing ecu. Is there a way to reset?

93Prostar190
05-27-2012, 01:03 AM
Blown fuse in the engine area ? What year and engine?

Flatwaterfooter
05-27-2012, 09:24 AM
2006 Prostar 197 with MCX

93Prostar190
05-27-2012, 09:36 AM
There is a cable on the MCX engine that is located right by the ECU on the back of the engine ... the cable has mostly red wires and a cap ... under the cap are some fuses ... check those auto style fuses to see if one is blown.

If that is not it ... then you need to check all your power and ground connections at the battery, engine block, starter, and dash area ... maybe a bad connection or loose wire.

I bet it is one of those 2 things.

Flatwaterfooter
05-27-2012, 09:57 AM
Fuses all good connections tight now gas gauge works no others

Flatwaterfooter
05-28-2012, 04:19 PM
Bump to this thread. Gauges will kick on now and then so i assume it has to be a lose connection somewhere. I had to fix the wiring harness on the fuel pump and sending unit. Since that time the problem has been there. Is this all related. New harness on order

Jerseydave
05-28-2012, 04:35 PM
Just a guess

Check your ground cables at the engine block
Check where all the ground wires come together under dash on a grounding block

Flatwaterfooter
06-15-2012, 10:05 AM
Unfortunatly I have not been around the boat for a few weeks but will be back at the lake tonight. Need to replace wiring harness for the fuel pump/sending unit. Where does the ground wire on that go to? Few more questions on my gauge issue:

1) On the wiring harness mentioned above I had to splice the ground wire. Ever since that guages have been out. I know I have a good connection at the splice.

2) Where is the grounding block under the dash? Do I need to take it apart

3) I read somewhere on here(can not find thread now) that described if lake temp reads over 110 or below 50 that it was an indication of the issue.

Flatwaterfooter
06-16-2012, 08:47 AM
New harness in but diid not solve the gauge problem some one has to have a thougt.