PDA

View Full Version : Any advice


PT 1999 ProStar
05-21-2012, 12:53 PM
Hey everyone,

I have a 99 ProStar 190 with LTR and slot tranny. My check engine light turns on once I get over 4200 RPM's. Motor temp and oil are fine and the boat is running great. I had the tranny fluid changed last spring as well. Any thoughts on what it could be?? Or suggestions on what to check?

Thanks,
PT

xbrdr1
05-21-2012, 03:53 PM
Do the paperclip jump and see if a code is stored.

agua4fun
05-21-2012, 06:03 PM
Funny thing, my 2001 190 ltr (regular tranny) started doing the same thing. runs great too, resets on restart and is fine unless i get to that speed/rpm again.
Any good links to the paper clip meathod? id like to give it a try before heading to dealer.

PT 1999 ProStar
05-21-2012, 08:40 PM
Do the paperclip jump and see if a code is stored.

Thanks xbrdr1 but I'm not in the know about the paperclip jump..... any help on that?

Thanks
PT

PT 1999 ProStar
05-21-2012, 08:42 PM
Funny thing, my 2001 190 ltr (regular tranny) started doing the same thing. runs great too, resets on restart and is fine unless i get to that speed/rpm again.
Any good links to the paper clip meathod? id like to give it a try before heading to dealer.

Yup...mine does the same reset.... Hate to bring it to dealer if I can fix it myself....

agua4fun
05-23-2012, 11:33 PM
just ran the paperclip meathod. came up with what i thought was 13, but after some searches it lookes like 13 isnt an option. it must be 44. i swear it is 1pause 3 long pause but 13 isnt possible based on some earlier threads. found a thread on 44
http://press.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=41782
Knock sensor should be easy to try anyway. hope this helps, ill let u know if it works next week.
Dave

PT 1999 ProStar
05-24-2012, 07:47 AM
just ran the paperclip meathod. came up with what i thought was 13, but after some searches it lookes like 13 isnt an option. it must be 44. i swear it is 1pause 3 long pause but 13 isnt possible based on some earlier threads. found a thread on 44
http://press.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=41782
Knock sensor should be easy to try anyway. hope this helps, ill let u know if it works next week.
Dave

Thanks Dave. I will give it a try. Won't be at the lake this weekend but next week I'll be all over it.
Thanks,

PT

agua4fun
06-10-2012, 09:53 AM
New knock sensor fixed my issue
just thought id post for future searchers..
PT hope yours was just as simple.

PT 1999 ProStar
07-04-2012, 08:08 AM
New knock sensor fixed my issue
just thought id post for future searchers..
PT hope yours was just as simple.

Thanks fellas it was the knock sensor! It's great to have this support system to help out on issues I have no clue on! You guys saved $$'s I'm sure if I had brought it to the dealer!

Thanks guys!