PDA

View Full Version : Surge brakes pulsating or "machine gunning"

kgrove
05-19-2012, 06:45 PM
'08 X15 with stock MC trailer. I had the master cylinder on my surge brakes replaced, and afterwards when I brake, the surge brakes pulse on and off as the trailer slams into the hitch, releases, slams in again, and keeps doing this over and over. I was told this is called "machine gunning", though i dont know if that is a universal term or just the local dealer's internal term. They thought it was a bad shock or dampener so that when I braked, the trailer would slam the master cylinder causing the brakes to engage to hard and/or make the trailer rebound backwards ands start a vicious cycle. They replaced the dampener and it's still doing it, although not as often or severely.

The obvious answer is to take it back and make them fix it but they just as obviously are not sure what's wrong or they would have fixed it already. Any ideas? What else could cause this if I have a new master cylinder and shock/dampener? I will be taking it back to make them fix it, but I'd prefer giving them some suggestions as to what to look for since they've done what they know to do.

petermegan
05-19-2012, 07:35 PM
Wonder whether it was bled properly. Air in the system could compress and cause an intermittant application of the brakes. Only guessing, never experienced it.

thatsmrmastercraft
05-19-2012, 07:55 PM
I'm no trailer brake expert, but I agree, it sounds like air in the lines.

mikeg205
05-19-2012, 09:12 PM
I had the same problem... #1 make sure bled correctly, #2 make sure shock in actuator ok, #3 - there are wear cushions that need to be periodically replaced. Mine was pulsating side to side...spoke with pacific trailers where I get my parts. Bought $25 bucks of parts - problem solved...do y ou have the UFP-A60 Actutor?

kgrove
05-21-2012, 03:33 PM