PDA

View Full Version : Disassemble Morse control without internals flying everywhere?


catamount
04-29-2012, 10:45 AM
Hey guys, I've got an MV2 that is heavily chipped. This picture isn't mine, but it looks like mine. I would like to remove the cover to have powdercoated but have real several horror stories here about other guys trying the same and losing springs and ball bearings everywhere.

Is there a secret to getting this black cover off without losing things? I have the handle off and the control free of the mounting bolts, but I wanted to ask before prying at things.

Any advice?

http://i914.photobucket.com/albums/ac346/Neil2112/DCP_0094-1.jpg

ccowell
04-29-2012, 10:54 AM
I took mine apart and lost the spring and ball but luckily I found a ball in my tool box that would fit. Just be careful. I eventually got it back together and works great now but was worried for a few while I was trying to find parts

mikeg205
04-29-2012, 11:01 AM
do you have this manual?...

http://www.teleflexmarine.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/MV2-instruction_manual.pdf

mikeg205
04-29-2012, 11:07 AM
Order this while you're taking it apart....

http://www.second-wind.net/servlet/the-1654/Teleflex-Morse-MV-dsh-2-Neutral/Detail if you're nuetral cut off switch is there...not on trans.

catamount
04-29-2012, 12:08 PM
Order this while you're taking it apart....

http://www.second-wind.net/servlet/the-1654/Teleflex-Morse-MV-dsh-2-Neutral/Detail if you're nuetral cut off switch is there...not on trans.

Thank you! Any idea how to tell 'where' my neutral switch is? To be honest, I'm not even sure what the neutral switch does, so finding it may cause me some problems.

Is that link you posted an "upgrade" for my unit?

Any and all info happily accepted... I'm kind of a boating noob.

mikeg205
04-29-2012, 02:32 PM
You'find additional wires on the inside of the controller. Should have 2 wires on the inside - what year boat? There's also a neutral position switch on transmission. 1 set of wires with silicon on them usually for temp sensor and then 2 yellow wires heading to engine wire harness.

check out this thread pick to see yellow wires..if you have this...no cut off switch in MV2...

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?p=832391#post832391

catamount
04-29-2012, 02:55 PM
You'find additional wires on the inside of the controller. Should have 2 wires on the inside - what year boat? There's also a neutral position switch on transmission. 1 set of wires with silicon on them usually for temp sensor and then 2 yellow wires heading to engine wire harness.

check out this thread pick to see yellow wires..if you have this...no cut off switch in MV2...

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?p=832391#post832391

Thanks for the tip! There are absolutely no electrical wires in my unit. All mechanical with only 2 cable linkages leaving.

I guess I don't need the switch?

My boat is an '87 PS 190.

mikeg205
04-29-2012, 03:37 PM
Luv workin' on boats... :)

catamount
04-29-2012, 04:37 PM
Luv workin' on boats... :)

mgorczak... just so I follow you. I should only buy that switch if I already HAD a switch inside my control, right?

It's not an "upgrade" or anything like that?

mikeg205
04-29-2012, 04:40 PM
no not an upgrade... I thought as long as you had it apart...why not change it... its like $10 bucks...

catamount
04-29-2012, 06:34 PM
Gotcha.

I've got it all back together but something isn't right. I took pictures of everything before taking it apart, except for the cables and how they attach to the control.

Something is wrong... somewhere. Grrrr.

mikeg205
04-29-2012, 06:36 PM
Post pic's...of before and after... maybe someone here will spot the issue.

catamount
04-29-2012, 07:37 PM
Post pic's...of before and after... maybe someone here will spot the issue.

I figured it out, I did not have the cable sheaths seated in those indendations that they put on there to hold the cable in place. It's hard to explain, but everything seems to be working now that I "seated" them.

Thanks for your help today!