PDA

View Full Version : 1990 MC yada yada

motomutt
08-16-2005, 10:14 AM
I'm brand new to this *****in site and just bought a 1990 MC PS190. I'm looking for a tune up guide (dwell, gap, carb settings, etc) for an indmar 351. I looked thru the downloads and came up nada. Also, the current prob. seeems to be carburation. Hard to start cold and hesitates (as in damn near stalls) if I go full throttle out of the hole. I know it needs a tune up and that's gonna happen today (the local shops aren't much help and want me to bring it in. . Duh.) Any and all help and advice to a first time owner / competant wrench is greatly appreciated. Any words of wisdom from you long-timers is also real good. Thanks. Motomutt

Kevin 89MC
08-16-2005, 10:27 AM
Indmar.com does have a few items on their website - look in the FAQ which is under the "wrench" icon. They have point gap, dwell, ign timing, plug gap, etc. They also offer a complete engine manual (including trans) for $30, I got one, worth it in my mind.
Lots of posts on carb issues, some recent. Lots of very helpful, and knowledgeable, folks here.
A lot of folks (me included) have gone to electronic ignition. The previous owner did it on mine, so I can't offer comparisions, but there's a lot of old posts on here about it. Not too hard, not too much $, liked by most who did it.
Welcome, I'm pretty new here too, so far I've learned a ton.
Kevin

Workin' 4 Toys
08-16-2005, 12:31 PM