PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Locks

jessejames
04-19-2012, 12:53 PM
Hi all! This is my first thread. I'm a newb to the forum!

Anyway I am going to pick up my first Mastercraft this weekend. So I am also a newb to Mastercraft. I have driven and been around and in them, just never owned.

My question is what is a good trailer lock to use on the Mastercraft trailer. It is a 99 single axle with surge brakes in the tongue. I don't have good pictures of the tongue, but know it is not a normal size/shape. I want or need a lock ASAP because I had my enclosed trailer with my ATV stolen out of my yard this year and it had a coupler clamp lock on it that was broken off.

Does anyone know if this would work?
http://www.jegs.com/i/Trimax/431/UMAX100/10002/-1

Otherwise what do you use?
Thanks!!

CruisinGA
04-19-2012, 12:56 PM
Cable or u-bolt through wheels and frame/ leaf spring is probably going to do better than just a coupler lock.

As long as it can't be defeated with regular home-depot hand tools you are probably good.

Jeff d
04-19-2012, 12:59 PM
For a '99 trailer you probably have a UFP surge brake actuator. If so I don't think that lock would fit.

http://www.trailerandtruckparts.com/assets/images/a60actuator.jpg

I have a '99 manufactured trailer and I use this lock:
http://www.harborfreight.com/ez-lock-trailer-lock-98518.html

Seems pretty robust and I think it was less than $30 in the actual Harbor Freight store. It's one of the few American made products in the store. The nice thing about it is that you can throw any padlock on it that you already carry a key for. I have one of the circle types as shown in the pic that can't be cut with normal bolt cutters.

Jeff d
04-19-2012, 01:01 PM
Cable or u-bolt through wheels and frame/ leaf spring is probably going to do better than just a coupler lock.