PDA

View Full Version : Another ski question

DJ 50
04-14-2012, 03:30 PM
So I would like to buy a new ski. I am not a pro by far but I am improving. I've never even tried the course but my goal is to be doing by the end of this season. Even If I become a pro in the course, 95% of my skiing will always be in open water. I will be most likley be looking for a used ski. I always see these type of threads and the someone always instructs to demo skis, however I don't know any place where I ski that does that. I'm 6 ft 170 pounds and ski at 32mph. I've been skiing on an older HO Mach 1. Recomendations?

mikeg205
04-14-2012, 04:27 PM
I'd go with a HO Coeffcient X with a dual boot set up. The Comp free ride is a fun ski as well. I like the double boot set up. I see these on Ebay used all the time.

Have you look at www.ski-it-again.com?

MIskier
04-14-2012, 05:51 PM
There is a 67in coefficient x sl (90% carbon for laminate schedule, and PVC core) for 400 which would be perfect for you. You cant really go wrong with any of the higher end Radars or HO. Check ski-it-again.com for deals and ballofspray.com for ski reviews.

madcityskier
04-14-2012, 07:16 PM
Factory Blems can also be great deals. You can sometimes find these at Overtons Bart's etc.

h2oskifreak
04-14-2012, 08:28 PM
I would not recommend too high end of a ski, if you are not in the course yet. Blems are a good idea as others have said. If you get too quick of a ski, you may not enjoy your free skiing as they are hard to ride unless you ride them hard and aggressive. Try some skies out if you have the chance. Good luck.

ntidsl
04-14-2012, 09:10 PM
I have a hard time recommending used skis as you never now hopw the previous owner tweeked the ski and without very sophisticated equipmnet its touch to correct that. Buy new, but 2-3 year old model and be harsh on the vendor to double check the fin and wing!!! Good luck!

19_Skier
04-15-2012, 07:20 AM