PDA

View Full Version : Throttle by wire probs? TPS?


washmaster
04-08-2012, 09:29 PM
Got boat out of storage today. Left the ramp without much problem, ran 3-4 miles. Picked someone up a dock, engine off for 10 min. Left there, ran about a mile, idled a bit, then had the following happen: Engaged fwd, trans engages at idle speed detent, but from there, forward there's NO THROTTLE RESPONSE until the lever is well past half way down. From there it accelerates to a max of about 3000 rpm and ~30 mph. Pulling back on the throttle slows the boat at the same point of travel where acceleration began. Droping into neutral (vertical) engine rpms remain a bit high for a bit (~1000rpm) then drops to normal within a second or two. I didn't want to get stuck, so headed back in.
I unplugged and replugged the wire at the stepper motor, but no change. Connection seemed clean.
I will put a fuel pressure guage on the Schrader in the next day or so. Boat went into storage Oct. 31 with a full tank of fuel and Stabil. It came out today. I'm doubtful of low FP because it behaves like the first 80-90 degrees of throttle lever just disapeared all of a sudden.
What can I check?

petermegan
04-09-2012, 09:37 AM
Hi Washmaster, What boat/motor? I gather it has fly by wire throttle? I had a mate with a Prostar 197, MCX combo with 550hrs on the clock that started doing strange throttle responses. TPS in the handle throttle was stuffed. I am not sure but think he had to get a complete unit not just the sensor. If you are good with a multimeter there is a diagnostic somewhere for resistence readings. Hope this helps.

CantRepeat
04-09-2012, 09:40 AM
His profile says:

Boat Owned
88 supra

washmaster
04-09-2012, 01:50 PM
ooPS! I forgot that most important part. '06 x-9, rtp. With all the problems I've had with this boat I sometime wish I still had the simple supra. Will update profile now....

petermegan
04-10-2012, 08:20 AM
Cantrepeat, I guessed if he still had his 88 Supra he wouldn't be having fly by wire throttle probs or TPS issues :)

CantRepeat
04-10-2012, 08:28 AM
Cantrepeat, I guessed if he still had his 88 Supra he wouldn't be having fly by wire throttle probs or TPS issues :)

Can't get anything passed you. :rolleyes:

holdenh2o
04-10-2012, 08:29 AM
I had to have the entire throttle lever/housing replaced bc you cant just get the sensor. Haven't had problems since.

petermegan
04-10-2012, 08:53 AM
Try an internet search of the actual TPS manufacturer, I reckon there was a source somewhere without buying the whole lot. try mouser electronics. Gee us Aussies are resourceful :D

petermegan
04-10-2012, 07:48 PM
Washmaster just PM'd you the part number.

petermegan
04-11-2012, 04:57 AM
Thought it may be rude not to share.

try: Mouser Electronics,
682-9861R5KL2.0
MFG PN:9861R5KL2.0
5K OHM CW 6PIN
BEI Sensors
$80bucks or thereabouts.

This was to suit an 07' mcx in a 197. You shouldn't have to replace the whole throttle assembly if this is in fact your problem

shunra
07-30-2012, 12:05 PM
Thought it may be rude not to share.

try: Mouser Electronics,
682-9861R5KL2.0
MFG PN:9861R5KL2.0
5K OHM CW 6PIN
BEI Sensors
$80bucks or thereabouts.

This was to suit an 07' mcx in a 197. You shouldn't have to replace the whole throttle assembly if this is in fact your problem


I am having similar issues with my 2006 MCX in a X15. Will this same part work for me?

mcxfan
07-30-2012, 12:29 PM
Do you have pics of the install and more importantly, did it work? I am having very similar issues on an 06' X2 with the MCX.