PDA

View Full Version : Stress cracks in hull near strut on 93 ProStar

glgisler
03-04-2012, 10:51 AM
I was waxing the bottom of this boat I recently purchased, and I found these cracks in the hull near the strut (which also appears to have a crack running through it) and more, less severe, near the rudder. Has anyone seen these in this area and/or are they of concern? Interestingly enough, this boat also has a crack in the fiberglass extrusion in the bildge which I have seen previously mentioned on the forum.

This boat has relatively low hours (~500), and otherwise is in excellent condition.

Thanks,
Gary

Jerseydave
03-04-2012, 11:52 AM
I'm not sure about the crack bilge area, but anything can be repaired. The gelcoat cracks underneath could be repaired by someone who does gelcoat repairs. If you grab the strut and try to move it does it feel rock solid? If so then you just have some cosmetic issues I think. (I'm no expert)

I would guess someone has done a few high-speed spin-outs (bat-turns) with this boat. That would put alot of stress on that strut/rudder area.

mikeg205
03-04-2012, 12:33 PM
Looks also like the strut may have been re-installed and over-torqued - also could have been a prop/rudder strike....looks like any easy repair or something to not think about it it doesn't leak. Did PO tell you of any collision of strut?

Crack in the glass would keep me up at night... MY OCD would make me remove the prop, rudder, check shaft alignment and repair...

glgisler
03-05-2012, 09:29 AM
Previous owner didn't say anything about this. I am sending him an email with pictures, because at the very least, I'd like to know how long it has been this way. I hear ya about the OCD - I may wind up pulling it apart.

glgisler
03-05-2012, 09:32 AM
Yes, the strut feels solid, but I've not set the boat in the water with the floor plate out to see if there are any leaks in that area. That's probably my next step.

willyt
03-05-2012, 10:09 AM