PDA

View Full Version : Good ProStar 205 Upgrades

rkhodges21
02-15-2012, 02:06 PM
Hello all,
I am new to the TT but I love MC and am hoping to buy one soon. I would love to have $70k to plop down on a newer one, but I am still fresh out of school so looking into a mid 90's PS205 as I know these hulls have proven to be good for skiing, wakeboarding, or just cruising. I know for me that a tower is a must and I am hoping I can find one with a nice tower already installed. I would also like to plum in some ballast as well to make the wake bigger as I get better on the board. One thing I have been wondering about though is how are these hulls for surfing? I have done a little bit of wakesurfing and I really enjoyed it, so I would like to have a boat that I could get a nice surf wake out of. I don't want to cause a fuss by this next question, but I was wondering what everybody thought about the Wedge that is on Malibus. Are they any good, and if so, could you put one on an MC? What about surf tabs? Would these types of extras be more trouble than just saving up for a newer model? It just seems like for the difference in $20k and $50-60k I could afford to put a lot of extras on an older boat. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks.

bkblaida
02-15-2012, 02:47 PM
We have a 97 PS 205 and love the boat. As you have read on this site many times it is one of MasterCrafts best efforts for an all around family boat. To answer your question, we have surfed using our boat. One ballast bag in the aft corner and the wake is sufficient for learning to surf and work some basic moves. With our boat we tube, ski, slalom, wakeboard, surf and barefoot. The boat does all of this well and non of it great. Since our family can do all of the above well and none of it great:D.....it is the perfect boat for us. Good luck with your decision

Rukowh
02-15-2012, 03:01 PM