PDA

View Full Version : First time boat owner/almost

Hogwild
02-13-2012, 10:36 PM
So I am posting this to gain some knowledge. I am wanting to buy a boat in the next few months and am hoping that you guys may be able to give me some advice of what things to look for when I go to dealerships/individual owner's houses (what to check besides the oil, etc.). I would also like to know what questions to ask the previous owner so as to tell if the boat had been properly maintained. I am a total newb when it comes to boat ownership so any help would be appreciated.

Some quick facts about me: I am in my 30's and looking for a boat that is family friendly without sacrificing performance. I have liked the Maristar series for years, but would also consider other V-style boats where the engine is in the back. However, I'm not even sure what engine is the best on these models.

Also, I won't be buying any newer than a 7 year old boat so keep that in mind if it matters.

Thanks for your time.

Hogwild
02-13-2012, 11:42 PM
Reading the FAQ now. Thanks to East TX skier for putting that together.

mayo93prostar
02-14-2012, 07:05 AM
You need to decide/define what you are going to use it for to get better feedback on what model to get. pure slalom in a course, slalom open water, wakeboarding, surfing, kneeboarding, or OMG tubing. Also good to know how many people typically will go out, that will define how big you need and if need open bow. Fundamentally get a Mastercraft. You have a good start by joining this forum. I suggest you find some people with different style of boats and try them out, if you have not already. There is a bid difference skiing slalom behind a 190 direct drive (DD) vs a v-drive boat, atleast in my opinion. Search through here more and you will see plenty of discussion of closed bow vs open bow and direct drive vs v drive. but it really depends on what you want to use it for.

02ProstarSammyD
02-14-2012, 08:42 AM
Few things

Figure out your price range