PDA

View Full Version : Reprop my 1993, Prostar 205

Jeff Lyman
02-12-2012, 09:16 AM
Ive been reading about how some props create a softer wake and some harder and larger. That Rpm's seem to effec this to. I'm after the softest wake possible from my boat for slalom only. After double knee surgery wake crossing is important to me. Some of you guys must of tested many props on this popular hull?

At our lake and in the course my boat is not the boat of choice to ski, (saves on gas!). I've skied equally between the 2 of the brands and the hardness of the wake is the most noticable area at around 15 to 28 off. A prop change may make some needed difference. I think the prop on my boat is an OJ, I'll check soon shes in storage now.

PLease help....

mikeg205
02-12-2012, 10:26 AM
On my 1995 205, I have the factory prop.. between 28 and 35 mph and 15 off there's practically no wake. I feel the most stress in my knees when start coming out of a hard turn..I am no expert by any means... I free ski and bicycle 50+ miles when I go, I am 52 and watch my knees like a hawk. When I went ski schools to learn to minimize the hop between waked they recommended staying on edge hard to slice the wake. But I am sure you are well aware of that. I noticed strain on my knees on the hop over the wakes as well as slicing on edge thru the wake.

On the other hand... I would go to a ski school and make sure you're not doing something which might exacerbate your physical issues. I plan on skiing until (well we won't discuss that) I may not be able to flip around bouys like will asher or marcus brown, but I sure have a ton of fun, since my coaching over the last few years I have no pain at all from skiing - except for fatigue...

Hope that helps.

jipster43
02-12-2012, 03:17 PM
What engine/transmission do you have? I know that will dictate which prop will work best for your needs.