PDA

View Full Version : Oil

Godawgs313
02-09-2012, 04:25 PM
When I had my boat serviced in the fall, the local shop put regular oil in. I have been using synthetic oil for about three years. Was thinking about just dumping it and putting synthetic back in, but I will have to start it to get the engine warm. Any advice, just run the regular,change it once or possible twice? Anyone have any feedback.

1995 prostar lt 1 engine

Double D
02-09-2012, 04:43 PM
Dumb question, but cant you just pull the plug and let it drain? It might take all night but it will come out. And even if you do have to run it, just drain the old, replace the filter, and put in the new. Standard oil change right? What am I missing? :confused:

93Prostar190
02-09-2012, 04:54 PM
I am a synthetic freak .... in cars, boats, etc .... but ....

fresh oil is good ... run the oil they put in while it is fresh and 25 hours from or so switch back ... no big deal ... as long as they use fresh oil you trust. save a few $$ the compatibility is there ...

If you want to change it now .... go ahead and do the slow drain like Double D states .... it has worked for me.

Peace.

Godawgs313
02-09-2012, 05:00 PM
Maybe dumb, but u wasted your time to read and reply! Really just wondering what people' s thoughts were on just running regular after running synthetic and if I do change it should I do it twice no way to get all of the old out with just one change.

Stx221
02-09-2012, 05:07 PM
Me personally (no real experience with boats, but quite familiar with engines) I would run the conventional oil for an oil change and then switch back to your favorite synthetic oil. No harm will be encountered for one oil change with the conventional oil after running the synthetic. They can be mixed together just fine, hence some "Synthetic Blends" that some companies sell.

You could always just run it to half your typical oil change interval if you are concerned by it. No need to waste fresh oil though.

CantRepeat