PDA

View Full Version : Transmission high temp oil light .

hewlett6621
12-18-2011, 12:13 AM
I have not had my boat very long and I am new to Mastercraft boats. About a month ago when using the boat I was Cheaking the Gage's and noticed the Hi temp oil light was on. I stopped the boat lifted the engine box and notice a small amount of oil in the bilge. To me it seemed to have come out of the vent on the top of the transmission. The oil level seemed a bit low but still
Showed on the dip stick. When I got the boat out of the water I pulled the hose off the oil cooler and found a heap of grass in the cooler. I cleaned the grass out top up the oil no more problems for the rest of the weekend. Went out last weekend and everything seemed fine. We were skiing back to our cabin for lunch on the second day two up and the light came on again. Checked the oil cooler and it was clean. The light only stayed on for a few minutes on went off again. Is this a normal thing or do I have something to worry about. My boat is a 1997 Prostar 205 with 1:1 herth transmission . I love this forum and any advice would greatly appreciated.

mikeg205
12-18-2011, 08:43 AM
Check the temp sensor.....my .02...

AZDave
12-18-2011, 10:27 AM
If it did overheat, change the fluid after you fix it.

hewlett6621
12-19-2011, 01:34 AM
How does the oil in the transmission get to the oil cooler . I mean does the transmission have an oil pump to circulate the oil through the oil cooler ?

oldairboater
12-19-2011, 10:33 AM
Transmission has a pump and is a pump simply put and anytime you overheat any lubricant it needs to be changed out.

hewlett6621
12-19-2011, 02:55 PM
I have changed the transmission fluid. Would a poor quality prop cause the transmission to run hotter? Just a thought .

oldairboater
12-19-2011, 05:59 PM
No, your prop should not cause a heat problem in the transmission. Transmission cooler, fluid level, or some restriction. Those are my first thoughts and where I would be looking first.