PDA

View Full Version : Boat speed for wake to wake

GoneBoatN
12-17-2011, 02:27 PM
So I'm wondering what speed you have your boat going for a wake to wake jump. The reason I ask is because I'm a beginner and have a hard time getting to the other wake. I'm also older and heavier than I should be so that is adding to the problem. I can correct one of those problems but not the other. I can just make the top of the other wake occasionally. I know I need more practice to improve my technique/form.

I want to keep my speed slower as to lessen the likelihood of getting hurt. Currently I'm wakeboarding with the boat running about 22.8 MPH. In the mean time I'm wondering what is minimum boat speed you are able to used to do plain and simple wake to wake jumps?

c_craig
12-17-2011, 02:46 PM
That's plenty fast, could probably slow it down even to even 20. What's your line length? X-15? (can't really see the avitar too well) I would shorten up the line until you make the jump, then practice, a lot. Make sure you get way out, and pause a second, then progressive cut (accelerate to the wake).

Jerseydave
12-17-2011, 03:09 PM
Line length matters, but technique is even more important. Your boat speed is fine, maybe a bit too fast. Try 21.5 mph and a 65 foot rope.

You don't need to cut out super wide before you start your PROGRESSIVE cut back toward the wake. Keep the line tension tight (load the line) and keep the board on edge all the way up the wake.

www.learnwake.com is a great site.
Post up some video of you riding if you have any. Watching yourself on video is a big help too.

vision
12-17-2011, 05:24 PM
Line length matters, but technique is even more important. Your boat speed is fine, maybe a bit too fast. Try 21.5 mph and a 65 foot rope.

You don't need to cut out super wide before you start your PROGRESSIVE cut back toward the wake. Keep the line tension tight (load the line) and keep the board on edge all the way up the wake.

www.learnwake.com is a great site.