PDA

View Full Version : additional amp install


makaveli2308
12-14-2011, 10:25 PM
Have a 2007 x2. The boat is running a clarion cmd4a head deck with 4 x cabin speakers/tweeters, sub and two jl speaker/tweeters (cans) on the tower.
All is back through a JL M6450 6 ch amp.
The set up is ex factory

I am ready to install two additional cans to the tower and I have purchased a JL M4300 amp……
I would agree that there is perhaps better equipment out there but I want to keep the set up stock factory

It is intended to run the 4 tower speakers thru the M4300 and the cabin/sub thru the M6450…..

My dilemma is the rca connections…… head deck has 4 rca (2 left/2 right) and two powered for sub…….. but how do I power 2 amps?? Splitters??

Would anyone with 4 tower speakers and a two amp set up (not a 2 ch amp for sub) perhaps let me have some pictures please of how the rca is set up – or even maybe explain with a diagram – easier to understand diagrams

Thanks guys

agarabaghi
12-14-2011, 10:55 PM
yea Y splitters should be enough.

also the amp might have pre out rcas you could use. I found though that some amp dont have good rca pass throughs and the signal suffers. The y splitters worked fine for me. You could also get an EQ so you can control the tower and cabin speaker separately

swatguy
12-14-2011, 11:30 PM
Your 6 channel is running off one set right now I would assume right? So u just run the other pair to the new amp. Even tho your new 4300 will have multiple inputs if u just run 1 set of rca's to the input 1 it will run all the channels on the amp. You shouldn't need splitters unless you are wanting to adjust each zone ie tower speakers, inboats, and sub independently. While crude it can be done without an eq.

In essence you have 3 rca pre amp outputs to amps from your head unit. A front channel which has left and right, a rear channel that has left n right, and a sub channel that has left n right. What u want to do is use the front channel l and r pre amp outputs and run them to the input 1 channel of your 6450. You then want to run the rear channen l and r preamp outputs to the input 1 channel on thei 4300. You should only need 2 ksets of rca cables to accomplish a simple install. The sub outputs are left unused. However if you want to be able to adjust each zone independantly you will need splitters, but again its a crude way to do it.

If you want to go that route I can write up the other way. I just don't have the jl manuals in front of me to write that up at the moment


Also if u let us know what channels on the amp the incabins are running off of and what channels u r using on the sub we can make sure the settings on the amp are dialed in since you will be making some slight changes. Improperly set crossovers can lead to a crappy sound system and damaged speakers

rspiecha
12-15-2011, 04:04 PM
You are setting you boat up like I have mine. I have a JL M6450 running 4 cabin speakers and the sub. I use a JL M4300 to power the 4 speakers on the tower. I have one set of RCA plugs going to the M4300, and it has RCA out jacks that I just feed to the M6450.

This with a JL e2150M AMP that was replaced by a JL M4300 and 4 speakers on the tower. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0213.jpg)

Same thing again. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0218.jpg)

And again (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0219.jpg)

Powering both amps. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0221.jpg)

And again. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0222.jpg)


Hope this helps.

Rob

swatguy
12-15-2011, 10:58 PM
You are setting you boat up like I have mine. I have a JL M6450 running 4 cabin speakers and the sub. I use a JL M4300 to power the 4 speakers on the tower. I have one set of RCA plugs going to the M4300, and it has RCA out jacks that I just feed to the M6450.

This with a JL e2150M AMP that was replaced by a JL M4300 and 4 speakers on the tower. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0213.jpg)

Same thing again. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0218.jpg)

And again (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0219.jpg)

Powering both amps. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0221.jpg)

And again. (http://www.memphiszclub.com/graphics/Maristar210/IMG_0222.jpg)



Hope this helps.

Rob


While you can def run it this way also..... its usually best to take the direct output from the head unit if u can.

makaveli2308
12-18-2011, 06:00 PM
Thanks for the reply guys, i'll be attempting the install over the weekend so i'm sure i'll be on here with a couple more questions.

Rob, thanks for the pictures, just what i was after.