PDA

View Full Version : ECU problem


P Mishan
11-20-2011, 07:50 PM
2004 X Star , If you have to change the ECU will the hours on the tach restart at zero?

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
11-20-2011, 08:26 PM
Short answer is no...if you replace the tachometer then the hours will be 0 within a new tach. A new ecm will new 0 hours or a used ecm will be whatever is already clicked in the memory.

P Mishan
11-20-2011, 09:16 PM
any time replacement with a new tach will zero hours with 2004 x star?

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
11-20-2011, 09:46 PM
yes, the hourmeter is built in the tach, a used tach will obviously be whatever it had on it...

P Mishan
11-20-2011, 10:01 PM
I thought the ECU has a memory so that a new tach will read what was on the ECU previously

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
11-20-2011, 10:05 PM
no, they are two seperate readings, the ecm has one reading and the tach has it's own reading

P Mishan
11-20-2011, 10:08 PM
does the ECU have any memory or only the tach?

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
11-20-2011, 10:10 PM
^^^^^^^^^^^

P Mishan
11-20-2011, 10:12 PM
last reply was a blur

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
11-20-2011, 10:15 PM
They both have separate memories for the hours

P Mishan
11-20-2011, 10:18 PM
so then if you put a new tach in why would it show zero

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
11-20-2011, 10:26 PM
Because a new tachometer comes with 0 hours on the meter from the manufacturer, the tach and ecm are two different components, whats the deeper question here?

P Mishan
11-20-2011, 10:28 PM
so then if you put a new tach in why would it show zero

Tomi
11-21-2011, 02:28 AM
Is this for real? You may need a practical experiment to visualize what James has been trying to say...
Take two stop watches and start them at the same time.
Now closely watch as the time on both devices is counted with same numbers.
Toss one of the stopwatches out of the window.
Take a completely new stopwatch next to the remaining one and start it.
Now take notes as the science evolves.... did the old stopwatch start magically from zero again? Did the new one suddenly jump to same value as the old one? Are they showing the same time or different time? Then the tricky bit... try to apply the findings to your boats two time counters.

P Mishan
11-21-2011, 09:08 AM
wise guy! I was told by a Technician at Mastercraft that the ECU sends the data to the MMDC and that The MMDC sends the data to the tachometer.

If you put a new Tachometer in, It will get the information from the MMDC which is the old data.

I had at 2003 Mastercraft X 30, had to change the tachometer, when I did, the tachometer started at zero

Now I have a 2004 Mastercraft X start, same problem had to change the tachometer, when I did, the tachometer displayed the old data.

Trying to figure out why one Way with one boat, and another way with another boat

CantRepeat
11-21-2011, 09:35 AM
wise guy! I was told by a Technician at Mastercraft that the ECU sends the data to the MMDC and that The MMDC sends the data to the tachometer.

If you put a new Tachometer in, It will get the information from the MMDC which is the old data.

I had at 2003 Mastercraft X 30, had to change the tachometer, when I did, the tachometer started at zero

Now I have a 2004 Mastercraft X start, same problem had to change the tachometer, when I did, the tachometer displayed the old data.

Trying to figure out why one Way with one boat, and another way with another boat

This should probably have been your first post.

I believe both boats are MEFI4 so it should have been the same behavior in both cases. The ECM does log the hours but it could be possible the 03 stored hours in the tach and the 04 pulls it from the ECM. I don't know for sure.

What are you trying to achieve?

I would think you'd be happy the that changing the tach in the 04 didn't result in the loss of hours displayed in the tach.

Tomi
11-21-2011, 11:41 AM
wise guy! I was told by a Technician at Mastercraft that the ECU sends the data to the MMDC and that The MMDC sends the data to the tachometer.

If you put a new Tachometer in, It will get the information from the MMDC which is the old data.

I had at 2003 Mastercraft X 30, had to change the tachometer, when I did, the tachometer started at zero

Now I have a 2004 Mastercraft X start, same problem had to change the tachometer, when I did, the tachometer displayed the old data.

Trying to figure out why one Way with one boat, and another way with another boat

Sorry mate! Couldn't resist since it sounded like a broken record for a while.

P Mishan
11-22-2011, 02:51 PM
anyone know the best place to buy or maybe repair the ECU

willyt
11-22-2011, 02:56 PM
Check the technical > engine/drivetrain forum man... Mods moved your thread there

P Mishan
11-22-2011, 02:58 PM
Im a rookie at this site having a hard time navigating please help

willyt
11-22-2011, 04:27 PM
Whoops they actually put it in electrical, which I guess makes sense. Here's the link to the technical topics:
http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/forumdisplay.php?f=12

P Mishan
11-22-2011, 05:44 PM
How did you know where they put it and how do I do the same thing please teach if you don't want to write you can call me at 416-878-1340 Peter thanks

team north
11-22-2011, 09:18 PM
http://www.mefi4.com/
OBD Diagnostics, Redondo Beach CA, USA

I bought one from them, awesome guys, my mechanic put me on to them. They carry and service all the ECU products, marine, automotive, etc...and test equipement. This is where my mechanic gets his software upgrade for his test equipement.
I delat with a BOB. He was very helpful,knowledgeable, friendly.

CantRepeat
11-23-2011, 07:48 AM
How did you know where they put it and how do I do the same thing please teach if you don't want to write you can call me at 416-878-1340 Peter thanks

Just about all threads that are moved to the maintenance section will have a little arrow and a redirect link you can click on that will forward you to the new location.